Governance and Organisations
Last updated: 26 June 2015

Governance and Organisation

1. Overview of HKAB's organisational structure

Hong Kong Association of Banks
Disciplinary Committee Committee Consultative Council
Other Committees and Working Groups

2. Committee
The Committee, which is the highest executive body of HKAB, directs and decides the business and policies of the Association. Its composition and powers are laid down in section 8 of the Ordinance, which specifies that there shall be 12 members in all, comprising the 3 continuing members and 9 elected members.

Continuing membership is linked to note-issuing bank status. The 3 continuing members - The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited and Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited - are the note-issuing banks and will hold office for so long as they continue to be the note-issuing banks in the HKSAR. Since 1996, the chairmanship of HKAB alternates every year among the three continuing members.

Among the 9 elected members, 4 are elected from indigenous banks and 5 from overseas banks. These 9 members are elected triennially.

Members of the Committee (2020 - 2023):

Chairman : Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited
Vice-Chairmen : The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited

Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited

Elected members : Local bank representatives Foreign bank representatives
The Bank of East Asia, Limited Bank of Communications Co., Ltd.
CMB Wing Lung Bank Limited BNP Paribas
Hang Seng Bank, Limited Citibank, N.A.
Nanyang Commercial Bank, Limited Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited
  MUFG Bank, Ltd.

Activities of the Committee are subject to quarterly review by the Consultative Council (please see section 3).

The Committee is advised on specific topics by various committees and working groups (please see section 5). HKAB member banks, often Committee members, nominate their senior staff to represent HKAB on various external bodies.

3. Consultative Council
The 24-member Consultative Council comprises the 3 continuing members and 21 members elected annually as representatives of the geographical regions specified in the Schedule of the Ordinance.

The Consultative Council advises the Committee on matters relating to the business of banking and also acts as a body for two-way communication between member banks and the Committee. The Chairman reports on HKAB's activities to the Council at its quarterly meeting, when Council members may comment on and raise issues of common interest.

Members of the Consultative Council (2022 - 2023):

Chairman : Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited
Vice-Chairmen : The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited

Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited 

Elected members : Australia, Indonesia, New Zealand, The Philippines Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited
Austria, Liechtenstein, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland Credit Suisse AG
Belgium, Denmark, France, The Federal Republic of Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, The Republic of Ireland, Spain, United Kingdom BNP Paribas
Deutsche Bank AG
Societe Generale
Canada, United States of America Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce
Citibank, N.A.
JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association
Hong Kong The Bank of East Asia, Limited
China CITIC Bank International Limited
Chong Hing Bank Limited
Hang Seng Bank, Limited
Shanghai Commercial Bank Limited
India, Iran, Malaysia, Pakistan, Qatar, Thailand, United Arab Emirates Mashreq Bank - Public Shareholding Company (Mashreqbank psc)
Japan Mizuho Bank, Ltd.
The Hachijuni Bank, Ltd.
Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation
Korea, Singapore, Taiwan China Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation Ltd.
The People's Republic of China Bank of Communications Co., Ltd.
Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited

4. Disciplinary Committee
The Ordinance lays down the composition of the Disciplinary Committee, its powers and procedures as well as the penalties that may be imposed on a member which has breached any rules of HKAB. Based on the recommendation by the Disciplinary Committee, the Committee has power to impose penalties, ranging from reprimand to expulsion of membership. However, the need to convene the Disciplinary Committee has never arisen.

5. Other committees and working groups
For more complex, technical or specific topics, HKAB may set up specialised committees or working groups to conduct studies and make recommendations for endorsement by the Committee. Member banks may view the list of committees / working groups in the "Member Area".